Spontaneous: without premeditation; natural; unplanned

So today, I had nothing to do, so naturally, I called the “laugh of my day:, the “sprinkles on the donut of life”: my sister, Christine. 🙂

Christine (C): I’m on the way to Harris Teeter, but I left the list at home. Can you see if it’s there?
Mary (M): Sure… <it’s not here. We talk about what to get for the salad tonight at dinner.>
C: Okay, thanks! That’s great, you’re the best! Is there anything you want me to pick up for you?
M: Me!? Um, SURE! Why not? Uh, how about some Nutter Butters?
C: Oh, I would get *ANYTHING* for you!
M: You’re the bomb! You’re so sweet! Actually you know what? Nutter Butters are a little too crunchy for today.
C: Well how about a donut or something? They have those little donuts with the sprinkles on top… Ooh, how about a danish?! <we settle on a Danish and I ooze gratitude.>
C: Well, ok, I’m here, so…
M: Wait, you’re not hanging up are you?
C: Well I didn’t want to keep you from anything…
M: I’m not doing anything – I’m *bored to tears*!
C: Oh, ok, well then you can come shopping with me! This should be fun.
M: Oh my goodness that is such a great idea!
<she goes inside, and talks extensively while I’m thoughtlessly rolling around the garage on my scooter. I hear about cream cheese, samples, magazines, granola bars, etc. Finally she’s at the checkout>
C: Oh, the thing I picked out for you got smushed.
M: <gasp> Smushed?! Is there another one?
C: Oh it’ll be fine. <she says reassuringly>
M: Ok. <she checks out and walks to the car>
C: I have to get the keys, this should be difficult since I’m on the phone with you.
M: You can multi-task. In fact you should be able to eat your “KIND” bar, talk to me on the phone, and drive home.
C: <takes a bite of granola bar> Ah, this is SO good!
M: Are you driving?
C: <with mouth full> Hello, hello, hello, yes I’m driving and talking on the phone and eating at the same time!
M: Wow! Such a multi-tasker. I’m impressed!
C: You are?
M: Yeah, but it doesn’t take a lot to impress me.
C: Yeah, me neither.
M: Yes it does.
C: Really?
M: Yeah… <I give an example and she agrees> <long pause>
C: Hey guess what I just tried to do? <I ask> I just reached into my purse to get out my phone.
M: <in between laughs> Wow, you really are losing it. <we both laugh>
C: I’m such a good driver.
M: Yeah you are. It’s because you’re fearless.
C: Yeah, totally. Fearless and New Yorkan!
M: I know right! Hey – did you just roll that stopsign?
C: <gasp> Did you just see that?!
M: Yes.
C: Wow… yeah, I did.
M: I know. <seriously>
C: Well I’m almost home.
M: You’re at a light aren’t you.
C: Approaching one, wanna guess which one?
M: Yup, when you were looking for your phone before, you were turning out of the video store entrance onto 51, weren’t you?
C: How did you know!?
M: You always pull your phone out at that light… and now you’re at the Marshall’s light.
<some confusion as to which light is the “Marshall’s light”>
C: Well now I’m on Phillips.
M: Awesome. <I walk outside with the phone and start down the street hoping to meet her>
C: Yeah, I’m pretty close.
M: Is my treat still smushed?
C: Oh, actually I had to pick up something else. It wouldn’t scan at the U-Scan. <tries to convince me it’s Altoids – I don’t buy it.>

So I see her driving down the road, and I wave. She comes to a stop, and I hop into the passenger seat, assuming she’ll make the curve around the cul de sac and we’ll walk inside. Instead she swings around and starts driving back where she came from. We drove around the neighborhood at around… well, let’s just say the speed limit was 25, and for those of us who know Christine… 😉 so we drove around for a while, blaring music at volume 29, and singing at the top of our lungs (my mouth full of cinnamon bun+frosting), the wind running through our hair, and laughing at how crazy it is. Eventually we got home, after I’d finished my treat; we carried in the groceries and arrived inside with the strong conclusion that: Life really is Good. 😀

4 thoughts on “Spontaneous: without premeditation; natural; unplanned

  1. Hey I had a BLAST with you, Mary! Spontaneous fun is the best, and we know how to do it. (But next time try to remind me not to scare the neighbors with our “fearless” driving skills, ok?)

Leave a comment